The JSI Prize Postdoctoral Fellowship is an internationally advertised position to support an early career scientist to work on scientific topics that are the focus of the Joint Space Science Institute. Current areas of interest to JSI include strong gravity, gravitational waves, black holes, high-energy and plasma astrophysics, particle astrophysics, and cosmology. The position is for two years with a third year possible by mutual agreement. The announcement for the position typically appears in the Fall.  

Starting in the academic calendar year 2019, the JSI Prize Postdoctoral Fellowship will be renamed as the Neil Gehrels Prize Postdoctoral Fellowship in honor of Neil Gehrels who was key figure in the establishment of the JSI and was active in working with students and early career scientists to further their aspirations. 

The JSI Prize Postdocs are free to pursue research topics of their own choosing. They are assigned mentors appropriate for their research interests from the JSI Fellows at the University of Maryland and NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center and typically interact with scientists both at the University and Goddard.
The position includes a yearly salary and research stipend as well as benefits, including comprehensive health care.
 JSI Prize Postdocs
Geoffrey Ryan (2017 - )
Nathan Roth (2016 - )
Erin Kara (2015 - ) – Neil Gehrels Prize Postdoctoral Fellow, Hubble fellow, Assist. Prof. MIT starting Fall 2019
Ke Fang (2015 - 2018) – Einstein Fellow at Stanford University
Zach Etienne (2013) -- Assist Prof. West Virginia University
Laura Blecha (2012 – 2017) - also Einstein Fellow, Assist Prof Florida
Scott Field (2011 - 2012) – Assist. Prof. Physics UMass Dartmouth